BMW Frankfurt Marathon

Wilson Kipsang heads best elite field ever at jubilee edition

Wilson Kipsang

Gilbert Kirwa und Robert Kipruno Cheruiyot

Agnes Kiprop

The BMW Frankfurt Marathon will see its best elite field ever when it takes place on 30th October. Eight runners with personal bests of sub 2:08 will be competing, among them is the course record holder and defending champion Wilson Kipsang. In 2010 the Kenyan clocked an amazing 2:04:57 in Frankfurt. The women’s race will see four athletes with personal bests of sub 2:25. Organisers of the race have done their best to prepare for a memorable jubilee race. Germany’s oldest city marathon will see its 30th edition on 30th October. It fits well to the occasion that the BMW Frankfurt Marathon has reached its capacity of 15,000 runners. This is a record for this race, which is an IAAF Gold Label Road Race.

“We are very happy that we have managed to continue our strong development of recent years, regarding both the elite race and the mass race. Now we are looking forward to an exciting race and hope that weather conditions will be fine,” said Jo Schindler, the Race Director of the BMW Frankfurt Marathon.

In the men’s race 15 runners have been entered with personal bests of sub 2:10 while three of them have been faster than 2:07. Besides the defending champion Wilson Kipsang the main competitors will probably be Kenya’s Robert Kiprono Cheruiyot (2:05:52) and Ethiopia’s Deriba Merga (2:06:38). Unfortunately Gilbert Kirwa (Kenya), who had won in Frankfurt two years ago with 2:06:14, had to cancel his start due to an injury.

The women’s elite field has very good depth as well with 13 runners featuring personal bests of sub 2:30. Among them are four who have run sub 2:25. These are Merima Mohammed (Ethiopia/2:23:06), Rita Jeptoo (Kenya/2:23:38), Agnes Kiprop (Kenya/2:24:07) and Mamitu Daska (Ethiopia/2:24:18). Germany’s Sabrina Mockenhaupt, who had won the race in 2008, and Ethiopia’s Fate Tola, who had taken the Vienna City Marathon in April this year, could also be in with a fine performance.

The elite field of the BMW Frankfurt Marathon:

Wilson Kipsang    KEN    2:04:57
Robert Kiprono Cheruiyot    KEN    2:05:52
Deriba Merga    ETH    2:06:38
Philip Sanga    KEN    2:07:10
Levy Matebo    KEN    2:07:31
Wilfred Kigen    KEN    2:07:33
Shentema Gudisa    ETH    2:07:34
Deressa Chimsa Edae    ETH    2:07:39
    Siraj Gena        ETH    2:08:39
Henry Sugut        KEN    2:08:40
Chumba Dickson Kiptolo    KEN    2:08:45
Sila Toek        KEN    2:09:09
Albert Matebor    KEN    2:09:16
Raymond Kandie    KEN    2:09:23
Lusapho April    RSA    2:09:25
Tesfaye Eticha    ETH    2:10:05
Henryk Szost    POL    2:10:27
Duncan Koech    KEN    2:10:27
Damt Kuashu Taye    ETH    2:10:31
Dino Sefir        ETH    2:10:33
Günther Weidlinger    AUT    2:10:47
Meftah Abdellatif    FRA    2:10:53
André Pollmächer    GER    2:13:09

Merima Mohammed    ETH    2:23:06
Rita Jeptoo        KEN    2:23:38
   Agnes Kiprop        KEN    2:24:07
Mamitu Daska    ETH    2:24:18
Sabrina Mockenhaupt    GER    2:26:21
Fate Tola        ETH    2:26:21
Liz Yelling        GBR    2:28:33
Alena Samokhvalova    RUS    2:28:47
Lisa Weightman    AUS    2:28:48
Aniko Kalovics    HUN    2:29:04
Kirsten Melkevik    NOR    2:29:12
Susanne Hahn    GER    2:29:26
Beata Rakonczai    HUN    2:29:54
Tatyana Borisova    KIR    2:30:35
Andrea Mayr        AUT    2:30:43
Volha Dubovskaya    BLR    2:31:41
Flomena Chepchirchir    KEN    Debut

More information is available at:

You may use the attached photo for online purposes. It shows Robert Kiprono Cheruiyot winning in Frankfurt in 2008. Please credit:


Please install Flash-Player!