Wilson Kipsang heads best elite field ever at jubilee edition: BMW Frankfurt Marathon


Wilson Kipsang

Gilbert Kirwa und Robert Kipruno Cheruiyot

Agnes Kiprop

The BMW Frankfurt Marathon will see its best elite field ever when it takes place on 30th October. Eight runners with personal bests of sub 2:08 will be competing, among them is the course record holder and defending champion Wilson Kipsang. In 2010 the Kenyan clocked an amazing 2:04:57 in Frankfurt. The women’s race will see four athletes with personal bests of sub 2:25. Organisers of the race have done their best to prepare for a memorable jubilee race. Germany’s oldest city marathon will see its 30th edition on 30th October. It fits well to the occasion that the BMW Frankfurt Marathon has reached its capacity of 15,000 runners. This is a record for this race, which is an IAAF Gold Label Road Race.“We are very happy that we have managed to continue our strong development of recent years, regarding both the elite race and the mass race. Now we are looking forward to an exciting race and hope that weather conditions will be fine,” said Jo Schindler, the Race Director of the BMW Frankfurt Marathon. In the men’s race 15 runners have been entered with personal bests of sub 2:10 while three of them have been faster than 2:07. Besides the defending champion Wilson Kipsang the main competitors will probably be Kenya’s Robert Kiprono Cheruiyot (2:05:52) and Ethiopia’s Deriba Merga (2:06:38). Unfortunately Gilbert Kirwa (Kenya), who had won in Frankfurt two years ago with 2:06:14, had to cancel his start due to an injury.The women’s elite field has very good depth as well with 13 runners featuring personal bests of sub 2:30. Among them are four who have run sub 2:25. These are Merima Mohammed (Ethiopia/2:23:06), Rita Jeptoo (Kenya/2:23:38), Agnes Kiprop (Kenya/2:24:07) and Mamitu Daska (Ethiopia/2:24:18). Germany’s Sabrina Mockenhaupt, who had won the race in 2008, and Ethiopia’s Fate Tola, who had taken the Vienna City Marathon in April this year, could also be in with a fine performance.The elite field of the BMW Frankfurt Marathon:MEN:Wilson Kipsang    KEN    2:04:57Robert Kiprono Cheruiyot    KEN    2:05:52Deriba Merga    ETH    2:06:38Philip Sanga    KEN    2:07:10Levy Matebo    KEN    2:07:31Wilfred Kigen    KEN    2:07:33Shentema Gudisa    ETH    2:07:34Deressa Chimsa Edae    ETH    2:07:39    Siraj Gena        ETH    2:08:39Henry Sugut        KEN    2:08:40Chumba Dickson Kiptolo    KEN    2:08:45Sila Toek        KEN    2:09:09Albert Matebor    KEN    2:09:16Raymond Kandie    KEN    2:09:23Lusapho April    RSA    2:09:25Tesfaye Eticha    ETH    2:10:05Henryk Szost    POL    2:10:27Duncan Koech    KEN    2:10:27Damt Kuashu Taye    ETH    2:10:31Dino Sefir        ETH    2:10:33Günther Weidlinger    AUT    2:10:47Meftah Abdellatif    FRA    2:10:53André Pollmächer    GER    2:13:09   WOMEN:Merima Mohammed    ETH    2:23:06Rita Jeptoo        KEN    2:23:38   Agnes Kiprop        KEN    2:24:07Mamitu Daska    ETH    2:24:18Sabrina Mockenhaupt    GER    2:26:21Fate Tola        ETH    2:26:21Liz Yelling        GBR    2:28:33Alena Samokhvalova    RUS    2:28:47Lisa Weightman    AUS    2:28:48Aniko Kalovics    HUN    2:29:04Kirsten Melkevik    NOR    2:29:12Susanne Hahn    GER    2:29:26Beata Rakonczai    HUN    2:29:54Tatyana Borisova    KIR    2:30:35Andrea Mayr        AUT    2:30:43Volha Dubovskaya    BLR    2:31:41Flomena Chepchirchir    KEN    DebutMore information is available at: www.bmw-frankfurt-marathon.comPLEASE NOTE: You may use the attached photo for online purposes. It shows Robert Kiprono Cheruiyot winning in Frankfurt in 2008. Please credit: www.photorun.net

Print Please install Flash-Player!